This past weekend turned into an amazing experience of discovery for me.  Although I am living in my van, I don’t like to drive it everywhere so I take the bus.  For one thing, I have a bus pass that is paid for by my job, so it is free, while driving the van would be a gas expense and likely a parking expense.  In addition, the streets are narrow here, and my van is big (compared to my car).  A third reason is that I don’t feel compelled to be home all the time ( and don’t want to – it’s summer and the van is hot during the day), so being out is best, and I have a lot more time on my hands.

What I would have done previously, is leave my apartment, drive to my appointment, parked, paid…whatever… and driven home.  And then I’d have sat at home, on the computer or playing my computer game.  I would have also had the stress of traffic to negotiate, making it a less than pleasant experience.

What I did this weekend was I left the van parked, got on the bus and went to the appointments.  On Friday I had a doctor’s appointment.  The bus exchange station is right in the middle of a nice shopping area, so on the way back, I got some lunch, did some window shopping, and really spent the whole day just wandering around the city along my bus line.  I did the same to a different area on Saturday when I had a dentist appointment.  On Sunday I had a haircut appointment, and I arrived about 45 minutes early.  It was in an area that I wouldn’t usually go to, but when I got there, I discovered they have a farmer’s market on Sunday mornings.  So I wandered around the farmer’s market, got a basket of strawberries and ate them, and then went to my hair appointment.  They were the sweetest strawberries I’ve tasted in the season, and sitting on a bench in the shopping area and just enjoying them, made the experience that much sweeter.

Basically I discovered a city I only half guessed at before, and it felt incredible!

Liselle

